Two certified courses are required by Hawaii State Law (Act 175, SLH 1999) in order for any persons under the age of 18 to obtain a driver's license in the State of Hawaii. After successfully completing both phases, a student is eligible and must present Completion Certificates from both the classroom and behind-the-wheel phases to the Examiner of Drivers before scheduling a road test. For detailed information on Hawaii's Graduated Licensing Program click on the link below.
The classroom phase is a 30-hour required course. We offer exciting lessons, interactive games, instructional videos, and much more. It is our intent to educate our students through motivational techniques instilling life long attitudes for safe driving.
Behind the Wheel Instruction: Under 18 yrs.
Behind the Wheel is a 6-hour requirement. Our highly qualified instructors have more than 20 years of driver training and experience. Students drive certified, automatic automobiles offering safety, easy operation and comfort. A learner's permit is required.
Practice Driving: 50 Hours-Required
Students must practice with a licensed driver over the age of 21 for 50 hours, 40 hours daytime and 10 hours at night. The students parent or guardian must signa notarized statementsaying the student has completed the 50 hours before the student receives a Behind the Wheel Certificate. (learner's permit required)
You must be 16 years old, have held a learners permit for a minimum of 6 months, and completed both certified drivers education and behind the wheel courses before you are eligible to schedule a road test with the D.M.V.